Jefferson County, Arkansas

County Departments

Circuit Clerk | (870) 541-5304 | Email

The Circuit Clerk is the official custodian of record for the Circuit Court of Jefferson County and also acts as the ex-officio County Recorder.

The Circuit Clerk's Office is prohibited by law from giving legal advice.

County Assessor | (870) 541-5334 | Email | Website

Office Hours: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm

The Assessor's office maintains current appraisal and assessment records, makes changes in valuations as they occur, stays abreast of property transactions within the county and keeps a file on properties updated throughout the year. Personal property assessments must be made by May 31st of each year.

County Clerk | (870) 541-5322 | Email

The County Clerk is responsible for the daily operations of the County Clerk's office. Duties also include county invoice payments, marriage licenses, voter registration records and county payroll.

County Judge | (870) 541-5360 | Email

Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm

The County Judge presides over the Quorum Court which has budgetary and administrative authority over county government operations.

The chief executive officer for county government in Arkansas is the county judge. As chief executive, the judge authorizes and approves the disbursement of all appropriated county funds, operates the system of county roads, administers ordinances enacted by the quorum court, has custody of county property, accepts grants from federal, state, public and private sources, hires county employees except those persons employed by other elected officials of the county, and presides over the quorum court without a vote, but with the power of veto. 

Learn more about the County Judge

County Treasurer | (870) 541-5302 | Email

The Treasurer is responsible for receiving all monies belonging to the county and keeping an accounting in a designated depository. The office serves as the bank for the county government.  The Treasurer is also responsible for disbursing all monies as directed by law and maintains records for all banking transactions.

Metropolitan Emergency Communication Association (MECA) | 870-541-5300 | Email

MECA serves as the communication hub for all emergency service and public safety agencies in Jefferson County.

Quorum Court | 870-541-5360 | Email

The Jefferson County Quorum Court serves as the legislative body of the Jefferson County government.  It consists of 13 Districts, each represented by a Justice of the Peace for two-year terms.  They meet twice a month to handle county business.

Learn more about the Quorum Court

Recycling Department | (870) 850-0235 | Email

Office Hours: M-F 8:00 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm

Jefferson County Recycling is dedicated to collecting, processing, and selling recyclable waste materials for the citizens of Jefferson County, Arkansas. The revenues generated from the sale of the materials are put back into the program allowing us to increase and enhance the levels of service we provide.  Citizens who want to participate in the recyling program please bring your pre-sorted items to the center.

The Department also has year-round programs and activities to promote recycling and educate the public.

1800 East Harding

Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71601

Hours of Operations: Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm, Saturday 8:00 am - 2:00 pm

Learn more about the Recycling Department

Road Department | 870-534-7020 | Email

Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 7:00 am - 3:30 pm

The Road Department maintains approximately 972 miles of county-owned roads utilizing a variety of heavy and light equipment.

Learn more about the Road Department

Sheriff’s Office | (870) 541-5351 | Email | Website

County jail, warrants, crime prevention, criminal investigation, noise complaints, child abuse investigation and law enforcement.

Tax Collector | 870-541-5313 | Email | Website

Office Hours: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm

The County Tax Collector collects taxes related to property, real estate, special imporvement district, municipal liens, business personal.  The Office collects the main sources of revenue for public schools.